Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy is one of the five Departments within the Faculty of Humanities. Students might apply for the BA programme Philosophy and MA programme Practical Philosophy. Lecturers of the Department work with contemporary philosophy: contemporary ethics and esthetics, social and political philosophy, political anthropology, fenomenology, biopolitics, ecosofics, time and memory theories, and philosophy of feminism.


  • Philosophy (taught in Lithuanian)


  • Practical Philosophy (taught in Lithuanian)

Dr. Mantas Antanas Davidavičius

Head of the Department

Research interests: eco-philosophy, theories of biopolitics

Prof. dr. Audronė Žukauskaitė

Research interests: contemporary philosophy, philosophy of Deleuze and Guattari, biopolitics, biophilosophy, posthumanism


Prof. dr. Dalius Jonkus

Research interests: phenomenology, Lithuanian philosophical history, philosophy of culture

Prof. dr. Gintautas Mažeikis

Research interests: contemporary social and political philosophy, critical theory, philosophy of the Renaissance era

Prof. dr. Jay Daniel Mininger

Research interests: contemporary esthetics, psychoanalysis as philosophy, contemporary political philosophy

Prof. dr. Tatjana Aleknienė

Research interests: philosophy of antiquity, dialogues of Plato and tradition of Platonism, earlier Greek Christians writing

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tomas Kavaliauskas

Research interests: political philosophy, philosophy and human rights, European identity and regional studies, dissidents and social critics, business ethics, art philosophy, creative fiction writing

Assoc. prof. Dr. Viktoras Bachmetjevas

Research interests: contemporary ethics, Philosophy of 19th-20th century

Dr. Bronė Gudaitytė

Research interests: philosophy of religion, Medieval philosophy, Eastern philosophy 

Dr. Jurga Jonutytė

Research interests: philosophical narratology, memory and time theories, ecosophy, philosophy of disability